Partner Universities

Six of the 27 universities in Africa with whom the University of Bayreuth engages in academic exchange and dialogue form the focus of collaboration for BIGSAS. They have been chosen to become partners of BIGSAS on the basis of their high educational and academic standards and their expressed willingness to engage in a large-scale, long-term cooperation with BIGSAS. These universities are located in the Arabic, English, French and Portuguese speaking regions of the continent.


Université d’Abomey-Calavi, Cotonou, Benin

Prof. Dr. Dodji Hippolyte Amouzouvi 


Addis Ababa University, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Prof. Dr. Brook Lemma Mamarou


Moi University, Eldoret, Kenya

Prof. Dr. Omar Egesah / Prof. Dr. Anne Nangulu
logo_mohammed_v Mohammed V University of Rabat, Rabat, Morocco
Prof. Dr. Yamina El Kirat


Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, Maputo, Mozambique

Prof. Dr. Esmeralda Mariano


University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa

Prof. Dr. Radhamany Sooryamoorthy

Academics from the Partner Universities collaborate with the Senior Fellows in recruiting, selecting, training and mentoring PhD students. In this respect, various models are possible: studies in Bayreuth accompanied and supported by mentors from the Partner Universities, joint training in Bayreuth and at a participating university abroad and also a Double Degree (Co-Tutelle).

Frequent invitations of academics from the Partner Universities ensure a lively exchange in research and teaching between BIGSAS and its African partner institutions as well as among the Partner Universities themselves. Moreover, co-organised conferences, seminars and workshops strengthen the bond between the institutes. Research visits at the African Partner Universities and fieldwork conducted with particular assistance by local colleagues complete the Individual Research and Training Plans of the Junior Fellows.