Membership in BIGSAS is regulated in § 3 of the BIGSAS Regulations. BIGSAS has Members (according to § 3 para 2) and Associated Members (according to § 3 para 6).

Members are the founding members of BIGSAS who are eligible to administer examinations. Additional professors and retired professors may become members of the BIGSAS. Membership is also open to outstanding scholars from all faculties of the University of Bayreuth who hold a doctoral title and supervise Africa-related doctorates. The Steering Committee makes decisions concerning applications for membership at the suggestion of the Dean of BIGSAS.

Associate Members are other scholars who are involved in the supervision of doctoral researchers. The prerequisite for associate membership is that a doctoral researcher must already be admitted to BIGSAS with a doctoral project. Associate membership is limited to the duration of the supervision relationship.